NCA-BA DUI Classes are licensed by the State of California and meet all of the requirements set forth by the California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs and the California DMV (see Rules & Regulations below for more specifics). Our DUI programs can be modified to comply with the DUI laws and requirements of other states.
We offer Six Week to Eighteen Month DUI Programs (“first time and multiple offender” programs). Course lengths, contents and prices vary according to the nature and duration of the program selected. Program options are reviewed during registration.
Orientation & Registration
Clients attend a preliminary Orientation and Registration session prior to beginning DUI classes. This initial appointment offers an overview of the program, time to complete registration paperwork, set participation expectations, design a class schedule, conduct a personal assessment, make payment for (all or part of) the program selected, and to answer any questions. Please note that this initial orientation meeting is in addition to the court-mandated educational and classroom fulfillment requirements to complete the DUI program. Orientation and enrollment appointments can take between 1.5 hours for individual sessions and 3+ hours for Group enrollments. Please plan accordingly.
Please call our office to schedule an Enrollment Appointment, (415) 296-0500. Individual enrollments are offered Monday through Thursday from 5:00pm – 8:00pm and on Saturdays from 9:00am-1:00pm, by appointment only. A weekly Group Enrollment session is offered each Friday from 9:00am – 12:00pm, by appointment only.
Please bring DMV paperwork (H6 form) and/or all court referral documents, the full program fee amount or a deposit (cash or credit card). If opting for an interest-free payment plan please be prepared to provide a credit card number that we may keep on file for automatic monthly charges (or you may pay in cash in person each month prior to the payment due not to be charged).
Prices are consistent with all other licensed providers in San Francisco.
6 Week – $292
3 Month – $664
6 Month – $994
9 Month – $1184
12 Month – $1503
18 Month – $1599
Enrolled participants have the option to pay balances by credit card, check or cash – in the office prior to due date each month, by telephone and/or by paying on-line at www.mkt.com/nca-ba so not to be automatically charged.
Initial Deposit Due at Enrollment for Payment Plan:
If opting for an interest-free payment plan please be prepared to provide a credit card number that we may keep on file for automatic monthly charges (or you may pay in cash in person each month prior to the payment due not to be charged). Payments may be made on line by clicking this secure SQUARE link: http://www.mkt.com/nca-ba
Program Deposit & Payment Schedule
6 Week – $100 deposit plus 1 payment of $192 per month
3 Month – $100 deposit plus 3 payments of $188 per month
6 Month – $100 deposit plus 6 payments of $149 per month
9 Month – $104 deposit plus 9 payments of $120 per month
12 Month – $111 deposit plus 12 payments of $116 per month
18 Month – $115 deposit plus 14 payments of $106 per month
Extended Payment Plans are available for those who demonstrate financial need (must provide documented proof each month, following an initial assessment with NCA staff).
ADDITIONAL FEES APPLY AS FOLLOW:
Failure to Attend fee (no show at a scheduled group, class or face-to-face interview) is a $20.00 charge to make-up/reschedule.
Additional Face to Face Appointment fee (beyond the basic number stipulated in the original cost of program) is a $14.00 charge for each appointment.
Failure to Pay On-Time fee is a $20.00 late charge.
Leave of Absence fee is a $20.00 charge.
Reinstatement fee is a $25.00 charge.
Transfer-Out fee is a $50.00 charge.
English 3-6-9 Month Programs
(attendance at 12, 19 or 29 consecutive Group COUNSELING Sessions is required).
Tuesday 10:30am – 12:00pm
Tuesday 3:30pm – 5:00pm
Wednesday 3:30pm – 5:00pm
Wednesday 7:30pm – 9:00pm
Thursday 5:30pm – 7:00pm
Saturday 11:30am – 1:00pm
Saturday 3:30pm – 5:00pm
English 3-6-9 Month Programs
(attendance at 6 consecutive Group EDUCATION Sessions is also required)
Tuesday 1:00pm – 3:00pm
Wednesday 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Thursday 7:30pm – 9:30pm
Saturday 1:30pm – 3:30pm
English 12-18 Month Programs (Sessions alternate every other week between Group Counseling sessions and Individual one to one/face-to-face sessions for 12 consecutive MONTHS)
Monday 6:00pm – 8:00pm
Tuesday 10:30am – 12:30pm
Tuesday 3:30pm – 5:30pm
Tuesday 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Tuesday 6:00pm – 8:00pm
Wednesday 7:30pm – 9:30pm
Thursday 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Saturday 11:30am – 1:30pm
English Group Education Sessions
(attendance at 6 consecutive sessions is required)
Tuesday 1:00pm – 3:00pm
Wednesday 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Thursday 7:30pm – 9:30pm
Saturday 1:30pm – 3:30pm
To meet the diversity of the Bay Area’s population, we are pleased to offer our DUI Programs in a variety of languages as listed above.
Education Tuesday 6:00pm – 7:00pm
Group Tuesday 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Group Wednesday 6:00pm – 8:00pm
Education Wednesday 8:00pm – 9:00pm
Education Saturday 9:00am – 10:00am
Group Saturday 10:00am – 12:00pm
At NCA-BA we pride ourselves on providing more than just the minimum required by the State as is offered by other DUI programs. While some may consider these classes a punishment and therefore just address the mechanics, at NCA, we utilize these classes as an opportunity to intervene with the clients misuse of substances and help them break through denial, to become more aware of their relationship with alcohol or other substances that can help change risky behaviors and improve their lives.
Though it is not unusual for clients to arrive at the orientation session feeling defensive, criminalized, or angry angry, most leave our program feeling grateful for the help and insight they have received. In fact, many ask for referrals to therapy and/or 12-step groups — thus begining a journey of greater self awareness and healthier choices.
DUI students will learn about alcohol, drug dependency, and addiction. Students are encouraged to evaluate their own thoughts and experiences with addictive substances. The curriculum includes information on DUI laws and strategies to prevent repeat offenses.
Our DUI programs are educational and are presented in a group process format with periodic individual sessions. The individual sessions are designed to give the counselor and student the opportunity track and discuss the clients goals and progress.
All of our DUI educators and instructors are experienced certified drug and alcohol counselors, including many at the Master’s level.
If a class/meeting falls on a national holiday it will be automatically rescheduled for the following available Friday. NCA-BA will be closed in observance of the following holidays:
Memorial Day Monday, May 26, 2014
Independence Day Friday, July 4, 2014
Labor Day Monday, September 1, 2014
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 27, 2014
Day After Thanksgiving Friday November 28, 2014
Christmas Eve Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Christmas Day Thursday, December 25, 2014
New Year’s Day Thursday, January 1, 2015
Martin Luther King’s Day Monday, January 19, 2015
Presidents Day Monday, February 16, 2015
DUI PROGRAM RULES & REGULATIONS
All NCA-BA Participants will receive copies of their enrollment registration form and program contract stipulating exact regulations and terms of their selected program. Specific operations of the NCA-BA DUI Program are in accordance with the California Health and Safety Code (H&S C) statute, Chapter 9, Section 11836 through Section 11838.5. This statute is implemented via regulations adopted by the California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (ADP) specified in the California Code of Regulations (CCR) Title 9, Section 9795 through Section 9886.
CCR, Title 9, Section 9848
First Offender Programs (FOP)
Multiple Offender Programs (MOP)
Wet Reckless (WK)
This DUI Program will enroll persons convicted for driving under the influence violations:
A. When ordered by a court as a condition of probation.
B. When a person is transferred from another licensed DUIP within California.
C. When a person needs program attendance to satisfy Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) requirements.
D. When a person is referred by a court or DMV of another state to attend a DUI Program. However credits from an out-of-state program cannot be granted.
Effective June 1, 2000, when a program participant, enrolls per a court order or a DMV Admin. per se, and actively participating in a First Offender Program, is required by Department of Motor Vehicles to complete an 18-month Multiple Offender Program for the same case, the case shall be transferred to an 18-month program with credit for completed services and fees paid.
Effective June 1, 2000, when a participant, enrolled per a court order or a DMV Admin. per se, in a First Offender Program successfully completes and is issued a DMV Notice of Completion Certificate (DMV Form DL-101), the case is closed. If the individual later returns with a DMV requirement for a different program level for the same case, no credit for completed services or fees paid shall be given unless it can be documented that the delay was created by a DMV or Court error not in regulations. (County #9848)
It is the participant’s responsibility to:
Determine which program the DMV or court will require for a specific case.
Inform this Program and provide documentation of additional DMV or court requirements for a specific case, prior to completion of his or her First Offender Program.
NOTE: A PERSON TRANSFERRING FROM A DUI PROGRAM LOCATED IN ANOTHER COUNTY MUST COMPLY WITH NCA-BA PROGRAM STANDARDS
The Program may refuse enrollment if a person is under the influence, abusive or is unable to enroll and participate.
CCR, Title 9, Section 9866
Participation in the DUI Program is a matter of confidentiality in accordance with state and federal requirements, and information is not released to anyone regarding an active or inactive participant without permission from the participant, except as required by law, or by a court ordered subpoena. Permission may be granted through the CONSENT TO RELEASE OR EXCHANGE INFORMATION FORM provided by this agency or the equivalent from another agency.
III. PROGRAM SERVICES
REF: H & S C, Chapter 9, Section 11837.4
Title Nine, CCR, Sections 9847 thru 9862
Specific guidelines for services to be delivered to DUI participants are established by the State and County.
CCR, Title 9, Section 9852
All participants must complete the education series, which consists of six instructional lectures of two hours each, plus a 10 minute break. (State regulations prevent including break time in the required two hours of education.) A participant’s education schedule consists of weekly sessions, conducted at the same time and day of each week, for six consecutive weeks. All six sessions (12 hours) must be completed in full. Therefore, if a person completes half a session then leaves at the break, it will be considered an absence and the entire session will have to be repeated.
NOTE: Persons convicted of a “Wet Reckless” (SB 1176) or convicted in another state may be required to complete only this portion of the program.
CCR, Title 9, Section 9854
(Not Required for Wet Reckless Education Only)
The 1½ hour group counseling sessions are conducted by a Group Counselor in a manner that encourages participants to share ideas and information so they may identify and resolve problems related to driving under the influence and alcohol or other drug use. Participants attend weekly sessions for the total number required for their specific program.
1) 3 Months: 12 Sessions, 1 Session per Week
2) 6 Months: 20 Sessions, 1 Session per Week (AB 1916)
3) 9 Months: 30 Sessions, 1 Session per Week
4) 12 Months: 35 Sessions, 1 Session per Week
5) 18 Months: 35 Sessions, 1 Session per Week (See D. RE-ENTRY)
C. FACE-TO-FACE SESSIONS
CCR, Title 9, Section 9858
(Not Required for Wet Reckless Education Only)
These interviews are conducted on a scheduled basis for the purpose of:
1) Discussing and encouraging participation in all program activities.
2) Identifying problems which may become barriers to the completion of the NCA-BA Program.
3) Evaluating the participant’s potential need for referral to ancillary services;
4) Monitoring payment of Program fees.
Participants must attend the number of in-person/face-to-face sessions which corresponds to the program length listed below:
1) 3 Month Program: 3 Face-to-Face Sessions — at the beginning, middle, and end.
2) 6 Month Program: 14 Face-to-Face Sessions — every other week (AB 1916).
3) 9 Month Program: 20 Face-to-Face Sessions — every other week.
4) 12 Month Program: 26 Face-to-Face Sessions — every other week.
5) 18 Month Program: 26 Face-to-Face Sessions — every other week. (See D. RE-ENTRY)
The listed number of Face-to-Face Sessions for the 6, 9, 12 and 18 month programs are the minimum to be conducted. Face-to-Face Sessions will continue to be conducted on a biweekly basis until all Group, Education, and additional program requirements are completed.
D. RE-ENTRY (Phase-III)
H & SC, Section 11837.4 (b), (1)
(18 Month Participants Only)
The purpose of Re-Entry/Phase-III portion of the 18-Month Program is to focus on community involvement with self-help groups, employment, family, relapse prevention strategies, and other areas of self improvement. In order to begin the Re-Entry Phase, the participant must have completed all program activities required during the first 12 months of participation and must have a minimum of 365 days in the program. (For Time In Program (TIP) purposes, the Re-Entry Component officially begins the day after the final activity, of the first twelve months, is completed.) The Participant must contact the Program within 48 hours to schedule the first Re-entry group, if not, dismissal could occur for 21 day policy violation. The Re-entry Program consists of five monthly one hour group counseling sessions and one hour exit face-face.
1) Participants will be responsible for establishing contact with an administrative staff member within three days of any missed activity, for the purpose of rescheduling. Participants failing to reschedule within the allotted time are considered to be “out of compliance” and are subject to the dismissal process.
2) The participant must attend the make-up session no later than 60 calendar days after the last presence. This is based on the monthly schedule of re-entry (the 21-day rule is replaced by a 60 day rule). The 60 days begin on the first day after the last attended scheduled activity. If after 60 days, the client has not attended any activity, he or she will be recommended for dismissal.
3) If a client prearranges an absence from his/her scheduled group, the group can be made up by attending the make up group according to the current Re-Entry makeup schedule (Only after absence has occurred.).
Specifications for services, such as size of groups and classes, number of absences allowed, length of time in class, number of program activities required, documentation of attendance, are all in accord with State and County regulations, and are not subject to grievance.
IV. PARTICIPANT ATTENDANCE
CCR, Title 9, Section 9876.
A. Each participant is expected to attend all scheduled activities, and each participant is expected to be on time and remain for the full session.
B. The following constitutes an “absence”:
- A participant fails to attend a scheduled Education session, a weekly Group, a monthly Re-Entry (Phase III) session, or a scheduled Face-to-Face session.
- Participant leaves any scheduled session early or FAILS TO RETURN or is late returning to the classroom after the scheduled break during an Education session.
- Participant sleeps or is otherwise inattentive during the session.
- Participant is asked to leave an activity because they created a disruption, e.g., cell phones.
C. If the participant has notified an Administrator or Staff Member (Front Office), prior to the start of the activity this will constitute a PREARRANGED ABSENCE. A prearranged absence will not count toward the allowable limit. (See Section V. – D.) However, it must be made up, and the rescheduling fee will be charged. Making up a Group session is done by attending the next group as the Make-up session. Making up Face-to-Face interviews or Education classes must be rescheduled. (See Section VI.)
D. Absences which are not prearranged are counted toward the allowable limit. Exceeding the limit will result in dismissal from the Program and return to court.
The following limitations apply to absences which are not prearranged:
- Participants in the Wet Reckless Program, shall not be allowed more than 2 total absences.
- Participants in the 3-Month Program, shall not be allowed more than 5 total absences.
- Participant in the 6 months, shall not be allowed more than 7 total absences.
A participant in the enhanced First Conviction Program of 9 months, shall not have more than 7 total absences.
A participant in the enhanced First Conviction Program of 12 months, or the 12-Month Multiple Conviction Program, shall not have more than 7 total absences.
A participant in the 18-Month Multiple Conviction Program, shall not be allowed more than 10 total absences.
E. All absences, both prearranged and “no shows” will be documented in the participant’s record and must be made up prior to the issuance of the NOTICE OF COMPLETION CERTIFICATE, DL-101. A MISSED ACTIVITY FEE FOR EACH SESSION MISSED WILL BE CHARGED, and must be paid by the next monthly payment due date.
F. If a participant has been granted an approved Leave of Absence (LOA) in accordance with current regulations, he or she will not be charged with absences during the LOA period. (See Section VII.)
G. Participants are required to be ON TIME for all scheduled activities. State / County Regulations do not allow us to provide a grace period.
CCR, Title 9, Section 9876
The following instructions apply to rescheduling specific events after an absence:
A. Face- to-Face. Participant must contact his/her primary counselor and make up the missed Face to Face within two weeks.
B. Group Counseling Sessions. Absences will be made up by subsequent attendance. However, participants must be sure to attend a scheduled group within twenty-one (21) days to avoid being dismissed under the 21-Day Rule.
C. Education. Absences from Education Sessions must be rescheduled at the receptionist desk within seven days of the missed session. The absence(s) can be made up by attending a scheduled session corresponding to the number of the sessions missed. The missed session must be made up as soon as possible, but no later than six weeks from the date of absence. Care should be taken to insure that rescheduling does not cause a violation of the 21-Day Rule. (See Section VII. – A. (4).)
D. Re-Entry (Phase III). (III.-D.)
PARTICIPANTS THAT FAIL TO COMPLY WITH RESCHEDULING PROCEDURES MAY BE SUBJECT TO TERMINATION UNDER TITLE 9, CCR, SECTION 9886 (a) (3)- Failure to comply with Driving Under the Influence Program Rules. Specific rescheduling fee information is included in Section X of these regulations.
VI. LEAVE OF ABSENCE (LOA)
CCR, Title 9, Section 9876.5
Leave Of Absence (LOA) Forms and instructions are available at the Front Office.
A. Participants may request a Leave of Absence (LOA) if they are unable to attend scheduled program activities for any extended period, usually 15 days or longer.
An LOA may be approved for:
1) Military personnel whose orders or responsibilities require an extended absence.
2) Participants whose work requires travel for an extended period.
3) Participants who are absent due to their own extended illness or medical treatment (or that of an immediate family member or significant other).
4) Participants who are incarcerated or otherwise confined for medical, mental health. or alcohol/drug treatment.
5) Participants who would like to take a scheduled vacation (see #VI C)
6) Any other valid reason that can be supported by documentation.
B. Completed LOA Request Forms shall be submitted to the Administrative Office no later than 7 days before the requested start date, with documentation (i.e., a letter from an employer, military orders, doctors’ diagnosis, etc.) to support the request. In case of emergencies that require a participant to expedite his/her departure date, the program must be notified and documentation must be received no later than 7 days after the start of LOA.
FAX or Mail Your Documentation to NCA-BA:
FAX: (415) 296-0626 – Attention: DUI Coordinator
1170 Market Street, 6th floor
San Francisco, CA 92102
Telephone (415) 296-9900
The Director of Program Administration, the DUI Coordinator and the Executive Director are the only staff members with authority to approve or disapprove an LOA request. Approval is not automatic, and the established procedures must be followed. It is the participant’s responsibility to verify that the LOA has been approved and that it covers the dates requested.
C. LOA requests for vacation purposes will only be approved if program participation (attendance) and fees are current.
D. Time in Program does not accrue while on LOA, and the time it will take to complete is extended. No charges are added for absences during an LOA.
E. A participant may return from an LOA anytime prior to the requested end date.
F. Names of participants going on LOA are removed from their assigned Group and Education session rosters.
G. A participant must contact the Program in person when ready to return from LOA, or no more than 5 days after the LOA end date, for reassignment. Participants cannot be guaranteed assignment to the same group upon return from LOA.
H. In certain extreme situations (such as incarceration or medical emergency) management may initiate a retroactive LOA when notification and/or documentation is received. However, in order to avoid the risk of being dismissed after 21 days, this information should be provided ASAP.
I. There is a fee for Leave of Absences.
VII. DISMISSAL OF PARTICIPANTS
CCR, Title 9, Section 9886
A. The Program will dismiss any participant who:
1) Fails to maintain program sobriety. (See Section IX. – D.)
2) Fails to pay, within 30 days of the due date, his/her assessed program fee.
3) Fails to comply with these Rules and Regulations.
4) (21 DAY RULE) Fails to attend scheduled program activities (Group, Education, or Face-to-Face) for 21 days from the date of the last attended activity, without obtaining a Leave of Absence. “Attend” is defined as; “being physically present for the full time at activities which have been scheduled for the participant. These include Group, Education, Face-to-Face.
5) Exceeds the number of absences allowed by the Program. (See Section IV D.)
6) Fails to attend scheduled program activities within 21 days of transfer to another licensed drinking driver program licensed by the California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (ADP).
7) Is physically or verbally abusive to program staff or other program participants. (See Section III.-D.)
B. If a participant was attending the DUI Program as a condition of probation, the Program shall notify the court that the participant was dismissed from the Program. The Program shall not reinstate the participant without the written consent of the court.
DISMISSED PARTICIPANTS MUST BE REINSTATED INTO A LICENSED DUI PROGRAM WITHIN 24 MONTHS TO RECEIVE CREDIT FOR PRIOR PROGRAM PARTICIPATION.
C. The Program may reinstate a participant, who is not on probation from the court as follows;
1) Not sooner than thirty (30) days after the date of first dismissal.
2) Not sooner than sixty (60) days after the date of second dismissal, and
3) Not sooner than ninety (90) days after the date of a third or subsequent dismissal.
D. The Program may refuse to reinstate a participant if the participant was dismissed because he or she was physically or verbally abusive to program staff or other program participants, or threatening to the Program itself. The Program may refuse reinstatement if a person is under the influence, is abusive or is unable to enroll and participate. (Ref: Title nine, Section 9886 (a)(7), California Code of Regulations.)
E. The reason for the dismissal shall be documented in the participant’s file and on the termination notice.
UPON DISMISSAL FROM THE PROGRAM, A REPORT OF NON-COMPLIANCE IS SENT TO THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES AND TO THE COURT. A COPY IS ALSO SENT TO THE PARTICIPANT.
VIII. PARTICIPANT RIGHTS
Participants have a right to be treated in a respectful manner. Any participant who feels he or she has not been treated accordingly, may follow appropriate procedures to air his/her grievance. The grievance procedures are posted on the bulletin board in the classrooms, and is written below. Participants are also expected to display courteous behavior and an attitude that is not disruptive to program function or inconsistent with program objectives.
A. Participants must provide a current address and telephone number to NCA-BA and submit any changes as soon as possible. Failure to do so could result in not receiving important information in a timely fashion. It is the responsibility of each participant to provide a current address and an accessible telephone number.
B. Participants will take tests and/or complete questionnaires as required.
C. It is important that participants who are required to take prescription medications or who have special needs due to a verifiable physical condition, inform the program at the earliest possible date, so that some effort may be made to consider these needs. Documentation from an appropriate health practitioner will be required for any exception to these written rules.
D. Total abstinence is a necessary goal for those who are chemically dependent.
Program sobriety is an absolute requirement for all participants. This is defined as the absence of alcohol and/or drugs in a person’s system, while present at the facility, or while driving. If a violation of this requirement is suspected by any staff member and confirmed by at least one other staff member, the participant must be dismissed from the program under Title 9, Section 9886 (a)(2). If a current client has received a new DUI, this will be grounds for dismissal under this section.
It is recommended that in order to avoid risk of dismissal, no alcohol be consumed or alcohol products be used for at least 24 hours prior to coming to the facility.
- No food or beverages allowed inside the Group and Education rooms.(except water – in a clear plastic container)
- Shirts and shoes will be worn on NCA-BA premises (no cleats).
- Clothing which advertises alcoholic beverages or other drugs is considered inappropriate attire while participating in NCA_BA activities.
- Clothing which attracts inappropriate attention ( i.e., very short mini skirts or shorts, see-through blouses, halter tops, tank tops, etc.) will not be allowed.
- Clothing imprinted with profanity or phrases having sexual connotations or innuendos may not be worn at any time on the premises.
- No item or apparel which covers or partially blocks the participant’s eyes may be worn while in the facility. This includes but is not limited to hats, scarves, and dark glasses (not including tinted glasses), unless current medical documentation is provided.
- No smoking or use of other tobacco products in the building.
- No weapons, including knives, are permitted in the building.
- Participants will not bring radios, tape recorders, cameras, computers or other electronic devices onto the premises. Cellular phones and pagers must be shut off while in the building. These devices should not be placed on any standby mode as it creates distraction in the activity. If a phone or pager goes off the participant will be asked to leave the activity, and an absence will be recorded.
- No visitors are allowed beyond the reception area of the building.
- Family members who serve as interpreters must sign in at the window and receive an I.D. badge before going into the service area.
- Acts of vandalism or defacing property (i.e., graffiti in the restrooms or writing on clipboards) will not be tolerated and individuals engaging in such activities may be subject to dismissal from the Program and legal action by NCA.
- No gum chewing allowed in the classrooms.
Payment Accepted: Cash, Money Orders, Cashiers Checks, Travelers Checks, Check Debit Card, Visa, Master Card, Discover Card, Personal Checks.
Not Accepted For Payment: We do not accept post dated checks, paper checks drawn on credit card accounts, American Express Cards, or coins.
Financial Arrangements: The goal of our program is to assist every participant in completing his or her program. Anyone having difficulty meeting their program financial obligations, should request a Financial Assessment Interview (FAI) immediately. To set a Financial Assessment Interview, call (415) 296-9900, extension 119.
XI. COMPLETION CERTIFICATE
Once all program requirements have been met and all fees are paid, the Program will issue a Letter of Completion (Wet Reckless) or a numbered DMV Notice of Completion Certificate (DL101). Processing of the DL-101 requires 7 to 10 working days and is processed and filed directly with the DMV. A copy of the Notice of Completion Certificate is sent to the participant by U.S. mail.
To receive your copy, you must provide NCA-BA with your correct:
Date of Birth
California Drivers License Number
Date of Violation
If you have not applied for or been issued a California Drivers License, then you must obtain and provide to NCA-BA a California DMV “X” number. This number is issued by the DMV and identifies your case. Contact the DMV or your insurance company for your DMV “X” number.
You must provide this number if you do not have a California Drivers License.
Note: You will have ten (10) days from your date of enrollment to obtain and provide this program with any information you cannot provide.
A. Upon completion, participants 21 years and older convicted of a Wet Reckless will receive one original and two copies of a Letter of Completion, mailed directly from this DUI Program. You must present this letter to the Court of Conviction as directed by the court.
B. All other participants, as well as those under the age of 21 who were convicted of a Wet reckless will receive the Participant and Court copies of the DMV Notice of Completion Certificate (DMV Form DL 101) directly from this program. The Original Notice of Completion Certificate is filed directly with the DMV by this Program. Contact the DMV for proper procedures for obtaining your license.
A NOTE ABOUT COMPLETION TIMING
To avoid suspension of driving privileges, the DMV requires all First Offender program participants to complete the assigned program within four (4) months plus the length of the program from date of conviction. For example; if you were convicted and sentenced to a three month program, you must complete the program within seven (7) months from the date of conviction, Six (6) month participants must complete within ten (10) months of the date of conviction, etc. You will be notified by the DMV when you have not complied with this requirement. Contact the DMV for further information.
Social / Sexual Contact Prohibition Policy
All NCA-BA employees and NCA program participants will keep their relationships on a strictly professional basis.
Any social engagements or activities between employees and participants interferes with this professional relationship and is strictly prohibited. This also includes any dual relationship, e.g. sponsoring a client in AA/NA.
Employees may not accept gifts of any kind from the participants. Employees shall under no circumstances enter into any personal business agreements with participants, including borrowing or lending money, sale or purchase of personal property, etc. Employees will not engage in any type of personal, intimate, or sexual relationship with a participant.
1. Try to resolve your grievance directly with the staff member.
2. If the grievance is not resolved, contact the immediate Supervisor of the staff person by telephone, email or in writing. Send your statement of the grievance by email or ask at the reception desk to have it put in the mailbox of the Supervisor.
For DUI Counselors and Educators:
Ms. Nazneen Abdullah – Director of Program Adminsitration
(415) 296-9909 [email protected]
For Office, Diversion & Prevention Staff:
Mr. Pedro Torres – Director of Operations & Prevention
(415) 296-9921 [email protected]
3. You will receive a response within seven (7) working days.
4. If your grievance is still not resolved to your satisfaction, you may submit an appeal in writing to:
Fay Zenoff – Executive Director
1170 Market Street, 6th Floor
San Francisco, Ca 92102
5. You will receive a written response within ten (10) working days.
For more information contact us at [email protected] or call 415-296-0500.